Evan Shenkman

Chief Knowledge and Innovation Officer,
Fisher Phillips

Contact Details

Fisher Phillips

Contact Role with ILTA


Social Links

Chief Knowledge and Innovation Officer,
Fisher Phillips


I lead the Knowledge Management, Innovation, and Library functions at the 500+ attorney labor and employment law firm Fisher Phillips, where I also Chair the firm’s Innovation Committee. Passionate about legal tech and legal innovation, our firm won the 2021 American Legal Technology Award's "Law Firm of the Year," and I was named to the 2021 Fastcase 50 List, recognizing “50 of the smartest, most courageous, innovators, techies, visionaries, and leaders in the law,” and received Litera’s 2020 Legal Innovator of the Year Award. Before entering the KM field in 2011, I was an AV-rated Shareholder litigating labor and employment matters for a decade.

My daily responsibilities include creating processes, practices, and software to allow firm attorneys to work smarter, faster, and more in sync; harnessing the power of A.I. and data analytics for use in legal; creating internal and client-facing collaborative tools; and helping making the practice of law far more efficient for our attorneys and our clients.

Outside of work, I am a Member of the Board of Directors of Pioneer Knowledge Services, a 501(c)(3) charity that provides KM assistance to charities to help them run more efficiently. I also frequently write and present on KM and Legal Innovation topics (see publications listed below), and have been Featured in The American Lawyer, the ABA Journal,, the AALL Spectrum, The Modern Lawyer Podcast, LiteraTV, and the Reinventing Professionals podcast, among others. I was an ILTACON Program Committee Team Leader (2018-2021) and Program Committee member (2016-2017). and co-Chaired the NYC Practice Support Lawyers network for 5 years.

Honors and Awards

AV - Preeminent Rated
2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021

Fastcase 50 Award Winner

Innovative Leader of the Year
International Legal Technology Association (ILTA)

Legal Innovator of the Year