ILTA CEO Joy Heath Rush Named Recipient of the Fifth Annual Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award

By ILTA News posted 10-08-2019 15:13


For Immediate Release: (Chicago, IL): October 8, 2019: ILTA is pleased to congratulate CEO Joy Heath Rush on her selection as the winner of the fifth annual Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award.

The Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award recognizes outstanding leadership qualities and innovation achieved in the legal technology industry. Rush will receive the award during Legalweek New York, February 4-6, 2020. 

On receiving the award, Rush shared, “I am humbled by this award. I have admired Monica Bay from the day I first read one of her columns. To be recognized in Monica’s name makes me prouder than I can express. It is truly an honor to join prior award recipients!”

The prior winners of the award are Alison Grounds from Troutman Sanders, Sheryl Nolan from Microsoft, Kate Cain of Sidley Austin and Farrah Pepper, Chief Legal Innovation Counsel of Marsh & McLennan Companies. The steering committee is proud to add Rush to this list of award winners and looks forward to working with her to support diversity and inclusion in the legal technology industry, inspiring others the way Monica Bay has inspired us.

The selection committee this year consisted of Donna Payne, Gail Gottehrer, Judith Flournoy, Nishan DeSilva and Robert Ambrogi.

About the Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award

The Monica Bay STEM Leadership Award recognizes individuals whose contributions have led to innovation and progress in the legal technology industry. It is named for Monica Bay, whose trailblazing career as the Editor-in-Chief of ALM’s Law Technology News and now as a Fellow at CodeX: The Stanford Center for Legal Informatics and a freelance journalist, has inspired numerous people to pursue technology-related careers. This annual award is given to leaders who demonstrate a commitment to the mentorship and sponsorship of women in the legal technology profession and who stand out as team players and thought leaders.